UFO Reduction Report

This flannel baby quilt is made by sewing pairs of circles, having right sides together, cutting a slit in one side and turning them right side out. Find the inscribed square and sew along the straight edges. Open up the sides and stitch them down. Hey Presto. Instant quilt. The pieces for this instant quilt have been sitting in my attic for about four years. They were already turned right out; I just had to sew them together.

I think the reason I abandoned the project was that I started cutting slits on the solid side of the circle (WRONG!) instead of the printed side (RIGHT!), so I had to sew it in the pattern opposite of what I intended. This is the one I finished four years ago. I like it much better:

I had three pieces left over, so I stacked them up, quilted a spiral through all six layers, and cut the edges so it would “rag up”. A hotpad for my kitchen table!

Then I moved on to a Tumbling Blocks quilt. I cut the pieces many years ago, intending to piece it by hand while traveling or sitting on the bleachers at Little League baseball games. (My sons are now 22,24 and 31.) In the interest of finishing it in my lifetime, I just pieced it together by machine. Still a lot of work, with all those short little inset seams! I made it a nice wall quilt size, about 49″ square, because it wouldn’t have the same visual impact on a bed. I confess… I threw out the remaining 100 diamonds.

About six years ago, I made tote bags for all my female friends and relatives at Christmas time. These two never got sewn up and have been sitting in a bag in the attic:

Then I moved on to those Cowgirl Boot blocks I mentioned earlier. I had 33 of them. They were kind of boring sitting up straight, so I set them cockeyed with spiky triangle borders. I made a 20-block quilt, a 9-block quilt and am currently working on 4 totebags.

I’ll post pics of the Boot Bags when they are done. I’ve also started on the pre-printed fabric project. I’m mixing up that fabric with some cute Noah’s Ark fabric to make a baby quilt. It’s pretty wild… I’m not sure the baby could actually sleep with it!

7 thoughts on “UFO Reduction Report

  1. Every picture I see makes me think, “wow! I love that one, that’s my favorite.” Then a new picture and I say the same thing… over and over and over again. Keep up the good work. It lets mere sewing mortals like me live vicariously through you! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

