What do you make, what do you like and what do you live with?

Hello, my name is Cathe and I am a quiltzo-phrenic.

Over the past 26 years (I can remember because I started when I was pregnant with son #2), I have made hundreds of quilts and quilt tops. Recently, someone asked me, “What kind of quilts do you make?” I started to enthuse about red and white quilts, then I remembered how much I like warm autumn colors, and then I thought of the splashy, vivid quilts I like in winter. But she had asked, “What kind of quilts do you make?” , and that’s not always the same as what I like or what I live with.

I make quilts:

1. To sell. I sell quilts locally, on etsy and on my website. If flannel baby quilts are a popular item, then I make some of those. If primitive plaid wall hangings are in fashion, I make those. Some quilts are commissioned, so my client requests certain colors and patterns.

2. Because I want to try out a technique or pattern. Even then, I keep the end result in mind and choose fabrics accordingly: for sale, for a gift or for myself.

3. As a class sample.

4. As a pattern prototype. When I write patterns, I make several of the item.

5. As a gift.

6. For myself.

7. Just because it makes me happy.

8. Because I have 300# of 2″ strips and I MUST use them up.

As for “what I like” and “what I live with…

Sometimes the quilts I like best live in the closet because I don’t have a use for them at the time. I love blue and white quilts as well as rich plaid quilts. I like Civil War era quilts and Depression Era quilts. I like pink and coral and yellow and purple. But… My current home is a rather shabby Turn-of-the-20th-Century Victorian house. Not an elegant Painted Lady, but definitely very traditional with wood floors, tall windows and high ceilings. The walls and trim are gentle, warm colors. The bedrooms are similar colors. I have one little bedroom I have decorated for my granddaughters, but even in Wisconsin, that bed doesn’t need six bright quilts. The quilts I make for my home are appropriate to the style of the house and they make me happy, too, but I have some very pretty ones in the closet!

I think it’s good to be an eclectic quilter. Experimenting with different fabrics and techniques stretches us. It’s like reading books of different genres, listening to a variety of music or trying foods from different cultures. We may or may not like those new things, but we always learn something in the process.

What new quilt project have you attempted lately? Did you like it? What will you do with it?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

