Scrap Quilts

 

I have been working from my bountiful supply of 2″ strips this week. I always enjoy that feeling of getting “free” quilts from my stash. Sometimes I have to buy more fabric for setting blocks, background or borders (and backings, usually), but it still makes me happy to get something for nothing and I feel less guilty about the embarrassing volume of fabric I possess.

I’ve been making scrappy 9 Patch blocks in two different but related color themes. There are 18 blue and brown blocks and 34 blocks in red/blue/gold/green/brown. I am planning to make some wall quilts and maybe a lap quilt, but I need to buy some more tan fabrics to use as alternate blocks before I can continue.

There are also two string-pieced table runner tops. One is cottage-y, shabby chic pastel colors, and the other is cobalt blue. I can not seem to capture the blue color. Take my word for it… it’s beautiful, clear, pure true blue.

Log Cabin variations are next!

Leave a Reply

